Mirror with Text – Involving the Audience

I tried out changing the background of my text, and questioning how it could be read in an exhibition. Using a small A5 mirror, I wrote about my current work – explaining the exhibition I will be putting up – using continuous line ‘secretive’ writing. The idea was to have it at eye level on the mirror, covering  a portion of the face but also involving the audience in the reading of the piece. This communicates the participation of other subjects in my work, but adds a sense of confusion as the text isn’t illegible – I am the only person who knows what I wrote. Hopefully this will express the message that all art is private in some part to the artist, and an audience can only understand so much.

Leave a Reply

