Exhibition at Jacobs Market

At the exhibition space I used a small area of wall to display my paper pieces on the wall, with sketchbook work below. I wanted the audience to first look at the displayed work which was at eye level, move along the pieces in the diagonal composition, and then study my sketch books.

#
Image of the overall display.

I lent one of my uncompleted sketchbook open against the wall, allowing the viewer to look through themselves – involving them with in my art and feeling a personal connection to my own art and thoughts.In front of this is a small book I comprised of several small redrawn simple sketches, less personal but also showing a contrast to the sketchbook. I am proud of the final appearance and feel it really expresses my thought process and ideas to the audience without too much confusion, but with a sense of interest and questioning. I also wanted to use different ways of displaying work and using the space given, to play around with the perspective on the drawings and having different levels of position.

18424659_10208495584779095_2086642951_n
Sketchbook display on white plinth.

I named this selection of work ‘Making the Insignificant Significant.’ It was difficult to sum up my ideas in one phrase but I wanted the audience to see that I am bringing attention to the everyday life, but also using sketchbooks to give a personal and rough feel.

18361264_10208495584739094_388380158_n
Exhibition Label.
Leave a Reply

