Ideas for Exhibition

At the upcoming exhibition at the West Wharf Gallery, which I chose to be the environment for my work in this site specific project, I will be displaying a series of works instead of one final piece. As my work has slowed down in development, and I wont have a final piece until the summative assessment, I want my work to show a series of pieces as a collection to really show my ideas and experiments.

With a huge interest in Keith Arnatts’ work, I want to play with what I display in a public place. I have the idea of using ‘insignificant’ text, things i’ve jotted down or remembered, and then displaying them professionally. This makes normally unnoticeable words stand out, making it significant. I then want to loosely display my drawings to contrast with this neatness, having the appearance of coming from a sketchbook. This plays around with what art is art and what is seen as important to the viewer, widening the opinion on subject matter.

Leave a Reply

