‘Listening’ 18.03.17 Devon

Whilst visiting home at the weekend I created this piece whilst my family were playing games and having conversation on a Saturday night. I was feeling distant and unattached to the events so I decided to create a piece where I recorded everyone around me. This involved me in the activities without physically or mentally being sociable. I didn’t intend this to be a piece that is read – I think when a viewer looks at it it seems overwhelming to read and difficult, and maybe this relates to how I felt in the social situation.

17474917_10208110824160320_1918608565_n
Written Piece on the words spoken around me whilst visiting home. An insight into listening into the world around me. Saturday 18th March 10pm. 

Close Up:

17474458_10208110824120319_628226474_o
Its interesting how the conversations overlap or stop as I try to record everything. You can also see the writing getting messier and less neat near the end of the page as my hand gets tired – kind of like the reader getting bored of reading the text. 
Leave a Reply

