Childhood Drawings Made By My Family

Last night I discovered some of my Mums letters to her Dad sent when he was away with the RAF, a few drawings and some letters from her Sister. I was interested in the purity, honesty and the innocence of the writing. I also like the way they would send letters, which aren’t used often anymore with so much technology, and the mixture of text and drawing.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

‘Dear daddy, I love you. are you all right, granny is here. I have been very good.’

‘DEAR DADDY I AM GLAD You ARE COMiNG HOME SOON’

These sentences are so innocent and poignant in their honesty and love for the receiver of the letter. I love the spelling mistakes and immediacy of the writing and drawings, which reminds me of my work – How if i’m constantly recording things, I can make mistakes or draw lines off balance – but it represents daily life which is what I want.

Leave a Reply

