Tracey Emin

I have been thinking about a lot of my work being  in sketchbooks and have small scale and how this could be making it insignificant or not powerful enough, and I want to expand. I feel that because my drawing and texts are usually on a plain background and stand alone they don’t deserve a canvas, but then I thought of Tracy Emins’ work.

Monoprints that interest me because of the use of text and figure:

Image result for Terribly Wrong
Terribly Wrong  (1997) Monoprint
Image result for tracey emin paintings
(2003) Monoprint and Paint

Emin also created a series of 14 paintings after years of not painting at all. She got naked in her studio and used her anxieties and worries about paintings to create these powerful pieces:

‘EXORCISMS OF THE LAST PAINTINGS I EVER DID’ (1996):

Image result for tracey emin exorcism of the last paint i ever did
Tracy Emin Naked In Her Studio

Exorcism of the Last Painting I Ever Made (detail)
Detail of painting
Painting using her own naked body

Image result for tracey emin exorcism of the last paint i ever did

I am in awe of the use of text and bold, confident use of personal statements. The way they accompany the sketches links to the work I am doing and I am now considering larger scale, more free, experimental work on canvas.

Leave a Reply

