Frida Kahlo Translated Text

These are a few sections of words created by Kahlo translated from Spanish to English which show the poetic and intense way in which she wrote. I felt she used strong words that came to her, rather than sentences, to express emotions and events in her life. As if automatic or without discomfort, these words present like poetry.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I started writing in a similar way previously but here are a few text pieces that I wrote without planning or decision.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I did experiment with the use of my usual handwriting, the natural way I write, but i’m finding that using bold or capital letters brings urgency to the words. It brings attention to the reader to maybe cause question, unease, discomfort. This reminds me of the trip to Morocco and the constant calling out at women, the people harassing me in the street or saying things that I found uncomfortable. Maybe this is influencing the way I am using words to make people feel.

Leave a Reply

