Dissertation Interest: Link Between Mental Illness and Creativity

For my Dissertation Proposal I want to look into the Link between mental illness, disease and issues with art and creativity. Artist such as Van Goph and Edvard Munch, who are known to have been mentally ill, and my questions on what fuels us to create art is what is inspiring my work. I feel some individuals are compelled to create, some more than others due to a diseased mind or thoughts, and its really interesting to me. I’m also fascinated in how mental illness, and the view on the world from within people who suffer from it, can create art like none other.

I’m currently reading books to do with art created in Mental Asylums/Hospitals, Outsider Art, and on the Psychology behind the need to make art.

Leave a Reply

