3-Dimensional Drawing

 

I recently received a 3-D pen which I have been using to make designs based on patterns I found in Morocco. I thought it would be good to display more physical objects along side drawings and paintings in exhibition and display. It is very tricky to use and takes practice so the first few designs came out not as planned – however, I feel this represents the imperfections of the hand-crafted mosaics and patterns in Marrakesh and it also shows the process of my making.

Box designs to replicate tiling:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Representation of the light patterns:

16804575_10207832967334073_1793816008_o

More built up structure of Mosaic:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Flower tiling:

16776352_10207832968494102_806108276_o

Compositions of collaged 3-D objects:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It has been interested to expand these patterns into 3-Dimensional object – drawings that involve space and physical presence. I also like them pushed together into collages – imperfect and cluttered; In some way relative to my experiences walking around Morocco and the vast amount of visual things to look at; as well as the feeling of being in such a busy city.

For the future I am thinking of making structures of painting/drawings, drawings on translucent acetate sheet, and some of these sculptural objects- all placed together to show ideas in lots of different forms. I want the audience to be involved in the work, so looking through work or having to view it from different angles may make the viewer more aware of my experiences in Morocco.

Leave a Reply

