Unity and Composition

I have been thinking about the importance of composition and unity in my recent work,  and have subconsciously been making decisions on the use of colour and shape. ‘Unity in an artwork creates a sense of harmony and wholeness, by using similar elements within the composition and placing them in a way that brings them all together.’

If my work carries in the same direction – focusing on the use of colour and pattern – this is something I want to question further. I want to experiment with what happens if I stick to the rules of composition and painting, and what happens if I purposefully abandon them. I’m currently researching into Kandinsky’s work and his use of abstraction alongside the rules of composition. His work – with no main focus or objectification – represents this idea of using known rules  whilst forgetting others; Paintings that have no sense of start and finish, no focal point and no real clue to what the work is based on, but that draws the attention of the audience to the whole paintings – using composition to create balance and unity.

 

Leave a Reply

