2-Dimensional Studies

After thinking about 3-Dimensional sculptural forms, I wanted to see what these shapes would come accross like when made flat. Deacon occasionally combines 3-D work and 2-D work together in his exhibitions and has contrastic aspects in each piece of work which I find is more interesting and stimulating to look at. 

I have created drawings based on Jons original pastel sketches. 

  
Using these bright colours, like the original pieces, was interesting and has a playful affect. Also, I used lines to connect the edges of the shapes – creating a sense of movement, of the shapes stretching out, as if tangeled in a web. I feel that although these studies are 2-Dimensional they carry a sense of life. I then use block colours with gouache paint:

  
I also used pen in a similar way to the architectual studies, the lights on the forms being pulled down into the ‘wings’, further exaggerating this movement. :

  
I have plans of making big coloured sheets of paper cut into these obscure forms, that will coincide with sculptural pieces. 

Leave a Reply

